Play The Field – Apple Watch version (ok, not quite yet…)

I’ve been excited about Apple Watch for some time now, and today I got my first look at one in person. It was surprisingly light, with great physical design and eye-catching UI. After playing with it for a few minutes, though the interface had some quirks overall, it felt responsive and easy to use.

I’m already thinking about how awesome it would be to create a version of Play The Field for this new device, though it will probably be months before I can get my hands on one of these. An even bigger issue is how to adjust the game to accommodate the smaller screen size and battery requirements, but I have some ideas related to that already.

Personally, I haven’t worn a watch in over a decade and find them annoying. And yet the idea of a completely new platform for gaming, and apps in general, is quite refreshing as well as challenging. Judging from the fact there is already over 3,500 3rd-party apps for the Apple Watch, I’m not the only one who feels this way.

Though there have been competing watches, from the little bit I’ve researched on these they don’t seem as good or functional as the Apple Watch. Having said that, there are still many limitations on the version version of the watch, for example apps cannot be created which work stand-alone on the watch. Instead it just acts as a controller, and most of the real processing happens on the iPhone. Fortunately, much of this is due to purposeful limitations on the SDK, which Apple is rumored to (at least partially) lift in the next few months.

At the same time, I’m still open to some of the competitors, such as Pebble, to improve to the point where it is worthwhile to develop on those platforms. While I do enjoy Apple devices, I try to stay away from devotion to any platform, and will always consider other options for any future development.

2 thoughts on “Play The Field – Apple Watch version (ok, not quite yet…)

    • I agree that the games made for apple watch won’t compare to those for larger-screened devices. But I just think there is a new opportunity for new types of games, and apps in general. Now is the time to get in the ground floor of a new platform of next-generation apps.

      Like

Leave a Reply

